top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTalia Wlcek

My Love of Politics Explained



If you've had more than a 10 minute conversation with me, you've probably discovered that I am completely and utterly fascinated with all things politics. As a current college student, I'm working towards a degree in political science, and I hope that I can pursue a career in the political world once I graduate this May.


However, I haven't always been this way. In the grand scheme of my life, my political obsession hasn't even lasted for that long. In fact, this love of mine wasn't discovered until I was in 10th grade, meaning that I'd spent 15 years up until that point completely unaware of what's now become such a significant portion of my life.


In the North Carolina public school system (which I've spent almost my entire life a student of), all high schoolers have to take a civics and economics class. My district made its students complete this requirement during their sophomore year. Up until this point, my social studies classes by and large were focused on history. When I walked into my civics classroom on my very first day of classes, my expectations were pretty moderate. I had always enjoyed social studies classes in the past, so I was just anticipating another class I'd like. Instead, I walked into a class that I can easily say changed my life.


What my peers viewed as just another boring social studies class everyone has to take, I saw as the most interesting class I'd ever taken. My teacher, Ms. Hill, was enthusiastic and engaging when it came to teaching us the material, and I soaked it all up like a sponge. I quickly became fascinated with learning everything about the foundation, formation and functions of our governmental systems. I eagerly memorized every constitutional amendment. I grew fascinated while reading excerpts of Supreme Court opinions, and when that wasn't enough, I'd look up the full ones myself.


I was hooked on everything that had to do with politics because of my 10th grade civics class and the incredible Ms. Hill. But when the class ended after the semester was over, where did that leave me?


I started watching the news every day to learn as much as I could about what was happening in Washington. My senior year, I enrolled in an AP U.S. Government class, which I enjoyed just as much as I did civics. By this time, it was 2016 and two very important things were taking place. First, the election cycle was already in full swing. Second (and perhaps most important to me), I was old enough to vote for the first time. This was a bigger coming-of-age moment for me than entering high school or getting my driver's licensed. I researched every candidate in the running and binged debates, town halls and interviews so I could prepare to cast my ballot in my first election. I did so in the North Carolina primary that March, then voted early over my fall break in October.


Once I started college in the fall of that year, my freshman self was intending to study economics then eventually go on to law school. However, election night in 2016 was the beginning of a shift for that plan. I stayed up for hours glued to the television set in my dorm room as I watched results come in. It felt like watching the most intense and important sports game ever, and I loved every second of it.


After that night, part of me started to wonder if economics was really the right course of study for me. This really came into question when I had to register for spring semester's classes and every time I had a general education requirement to fill, I would immediately check if there were any political science classes that could fulfill it. This was when I realized that I would probably end up taking enough classes for a major in political science anyway, so I might as well get credit for doing so.


I went to an academic advisor to declare my major in political science that week, and I've never regretted it since. Some of my favorite classes in college have been in this department, allowing me to study topics like intersectional social justice or civil liberties under the Constitution.


When people ask me why I'm so interested in politics, I usually give them an abridged version of this history I just detailed for you. It's true that my love of politics started because it's by far the most fascinating subject I've ever studied, but it goes a bit deeper than that still. Yes, I could read Supreme Court opinions or watch C-SPAN all day long, but I want to go into politics because, to me, it's a way that I can make a positive impact on people's lives. I can use my skills and knowledge to push for legislation and action that benefits the causes I believe in. I want to fight for my beliefs and what I know is right. I think a job in politics is the best way for me to do this, and it just so happens that I think it's the most interesting and impactful thing in the world.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page